h1

2nd week NoS – crash and burn!

May 1, 2008

I don’t know why I always do it to myself, but as of my 2nd Monday on NoS, I crashed & burned! I decided to give in to the craving for chocolate brownies, and baked myself a batch. Then I proceeded to eat most of them myself over the next couple of days. I also bought myself Coke, and chocolate bars. 😦

Something Reinhard Engels said, on the NoS bulletin boards last week, really hit me today. He said something to the effect of this: “Maybe I should post a sticky that tells all the new people not to expect ANY weight loss for the first MONTH!

Wow. A whole month of playing (strictly) by the rules without seeing any progress? Could I handle that?

And, that’s where the insight came in: I still want the “quick fix” (that doesn’t really exist, anyway). 😕 I’m still hoping to be down 12-15 pounds by July 1st (no longer realistic, given how long I’ve procrastinated this year).

I need to wrap my head around the fact that, if I want to lose the weight AND KEEP IT OFF FOR GOOD, I need to let this process be S-L-O-W and gradual (which the NoS diet, supposedly, is). If the weight comes off slowly –so say many studies– it’s more likely to STAY off… for good! And, that is *definitely* something we want! 😉

So, with this week being a complete wash, I’m going to start NoS-ing again on the weekend, and give it my best… and hopefully, by the weekend, I’ll have my head in the right place, no longer expecting a quick loss, but willing to put in the time and effort, and to just TRUST the process a bit more. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

